

# MINUTES OF THE PROTOCOL COMMITTEE MEETING HELD ON WEDNESDAY 7 JUNE 2023

# 1 Lord Mayor Proposal for the awarding of The Freedom of the City

The Lord Mayor requested that the meeting be held in camera as they would be discussing private individuals. The Members agreed to this request.

The Lord Mayor proposed Duncan Stewart and Greta Thunberg for the Freedom of the City for their work on environmental issues, raising public awareness of the climate crisis and youth activism. They will be the first environmentalists nominated for the Freedom of the City award, which is a reflection of the significant contribution they have made.

The Members expressed their support for the two candidates proposed by the Lord Mayor and commended their contributions in promoting environmentalism, climate action and youth activism. Councillor Mannix Flynn abstained from supporting the nominations.

The Lord Mayor thanked the Members for their support and confirmed that the nominations would go for approval to the City Council meeting on 12<sup>th</sup> June 2023 and the Freedom of the City ceremony would take place on 21<sup>st</sup> June 2023 in the Round Room at the Mansion House.

The Chair suggested that the process for nominations for the Freedom of the City should be reviewed with regards to the timing of nominations and the number of candidates proposed. The Members supported the Chairs suggestion.

Order: The nomination of Duncan Stewart and Greta Thunberg for the Freedom of the City award were agreed and recommended to the City Council.

<u>Councillor Deirdre Heney</u> Chairperson Wednesday 7 June 2023

# Attendance:

#### Members:

Deirdre Heney (Chairperson) Anthony Connaghan Joe Costello Janet Horner Micheál MacDonncha Michael Pidgeon

Officers Michael Galls

Michael Gallagher

Members:

Caroline Conroy Anne Feeney Dermot Lacey Briege MacOscar Noeleen Reilly

Natalie Leonard

# Members:

Donna Cooney Mannix Flynn Darcy Lonergan Cat O'Driscoll